Columbus Chamber Receives Statewide Recognition

Staff Report

Monday, December 7th, 2020

In 2011, the GACCE Board of Directors sought a way to recognize Chambers of Commerce in the state that have focused internally on their operations to assess their strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities to create efficient, effective organizations positioned to deliver great value.  Thus, the Georgia Certified Chamber program was created.

The purpose of the program is to facilitate continuing excellence in the chamber industry and to foster a pro-business environment across the State of Georgia.  Chambers must meet standards in organization, service intent and capacity, professional administration, financial management, communications, and advocacy in order to achieve the designation. 

With over 150 Chambers of Commerce in the State of Georgia, the five chambers that were recognized as Georgia Certified Chambers during our 2020 Board Training Webinar via Zoom today received a prestigious honor that distinguishes the high quality, expertise, and strong leadership displayed by accredited chambers.  These chambers make up a total of 59 Chambers of Commerce that have been recognized with this distinction over the past nine years.

The following Chambers of Commerce make up the 2020 class of Georgia Certified Chambers:

  1. Covington-Newton Chamber of Commerce 
  2. Eatonton-Putnam Chamber of Commerce

  3. Greater Columbus Chamber of Commerce

  4. Gwinnett Chamber of Commerce

  5. Habersham County Chamber of Commerce

Congratulations to each of these chambers and thank you for your service to the chamber of commerce industry and your communities!