Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation Names Christie Akers 2024 MCSD Teacher of the Year

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Friday, May 10th, 2024

The Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation (MEEF) named Christie Akers the 2024 MCSD Teacher of the Year. Christie teaches English, AP Seminar, and Mythology. The announcement was made in front of a sell-out crowd of more than 1,100 teachers and community leaders on Thursday, May 9th, 2024, at the Columbus Convention and Trade Center in Columbus, GA. The announcement was the culmination of the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation’s Teacher of the Year program for the Muscogee County School District.

The Selection Committee was impressed with Christie’s connection with her students and her commitment to helping make them vital members of their community. Selection Committee Chair, Josh Reynolds was excited to see her connection with the students. “Christie has a distinct ability to engage her students. Her understanding of a teenager’s mind is remarkable. Whether a student is acting like a silly kid or needing help and guidance as a young adult – Christie has developed such good relationships with every one of her students, they trust her to know what they need. It's clear she has earned the trust and respect of all her students.

Akers was chosen from 55 Teacher of the Year (TOTY) Honorees representing each school in the Muscogee County School District.  Christie’s educational philosophy is anchored in building relationships with her students. “I get to witness the growth in high school and cheer them on along the way. I love interacting with my students daily, and how they challenge me to think about things differently. I love watching students start to dream about their future after high school, and I feel honored when they ask me to write college recommendation letters. This is what I love about teaching – bearing witness to the growth and development that happens when a child feels safe and cared for in their environment.

2022 Teacher of the Year Vanessa Ellis served on the TOTY Selection Committee and observed that Akers “…is the type of educator who not only inspires her students but empowers them. She has created conditions in her classroom in which students are highly engaged and take ownership of their learning. And she loves and believes in all students as learners and as humans.”

Each of the school TOTY Honorees are recognized and honored throughout the year in a variety of ways. In March, all the TOTYs were honored at an MCSD-sponsored breakfast with the MCSD TOTY and the national TOTY. At the Gala every TOTY received a framed certificate of recognition and a $100 honorarium.  The Top Ten honorees also received a framed certificate of recognition and $500 honorarium. The Top Three received a $1000 honorarium and the MCSD Teacher of the Year is featured on a OUTFRONT Media digital billboard, and received a $5000 honorarium. 

MEEF Chairman, Josh Reynolds noted that this year the sponsors were extremely supportive, “We are especially grateful to our generous supporters who enable MEEF to reward and recognize exceptional teachers including Aflac , W.C. Bradley Company, Columbus United FC, Kinetic Credit Union , Synovus,

This W.O.R.K.S. Inc, ESS, Brasfield & Gorrie, Janet Davis,

 Hecht Burdeshaw Architects, Representative Richard H. Smith, TSYS, Virtucom, Judge Art Smith, Colony Bank, Columbus State University, Columbus Water Works,

EMC Engineering Services Inc., FabArts, Freeman and Associates,

Goggans, Stutzman, Hudson, Wilson & Mize, Hall Booth Smith, PC, Hughston Clinic, Kar-Tunes, McGraw-Hill Education, Muscogee Retired Educators Association, OUTFRONT Media, Piedmont Columbus Regional, Bill Reaves, Renaissance, Robinson, Grimes & Company, P.C., Spud Bowen & Associates” 

MEEF is a non-profit organization dedicated to fostering educational excellence by recognizing and rewarding innovative and exceptionally effective teachers in the Muscogee County School District. The Foundation has awarded over $3.1 million to teachers in MCSD, through financial incentives in the TOTY program, the MEEF Grant program, the MEEF Endowment Fund, the STEM T3 program, and the Harvard Fellows program, and the Buntin Scholars Program.